Barbra Streisand to receive 2024 SAG Life Achievement Award

Barbra Streisand will receive the 2024 SAG Life Achievement Award at the 30th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, airing on Netflix on Feb. 24. Streisand becomes the 59th recipient of the tribute, following Sally Field (who received it during the 2023 telecast).

The SAG Life Achievement Award is presented annually ‘to an actor who exhibits the finest ideals of the acting profession.’  Streisand said in a statement: “Ever since I was a young girl sitting in the Loew’s Kings Theatre in Brooklyn, I dreamed of being one of those actresses I saw on the screen. The movies were a portal to a world I could only imagine. Even though I was an unlikely candidate, somehow my dream came true. This award is especially meaningful to me because it comes from my fellow actors, whom I so admire.”

Streisand has won two Academy Awards, 10 Grammys (including the Grammy Legend and Lifetime Achievement Awards), five Emmys and one Tony. She also just published her memoir, My Name is Barbra, which became an instant New York Times best-seller.

SAG-AFTRA president Fran Drescher said of her honoree: “Barbra Streisand is an icon and unparalleled talent, a force of nature who has seamlessly woven her brilliance through the fabric of our industry. From her earliest days captivating audiences on Broadway to her unforgettable roles in cinematic classics like ‘Funny Girl’, ‘The Way We Were’, and ‘A Star Is Born’, Barbra’s ability to inhabit her characters with authenticity is nothing short of extraordinary. Her enduring career is a testament to her genuine performances, connecting with audiences on a profound level. She is a colossal icon with a relentless work ethic, evolving with each stage of her remarkable journey. We celebrate Barbra Streisand not just for her achievements but for the enduring legacy she has carved.”

The SAG Awards will stream live for the first time on Netflix, taking place February 24th.

Editorial credit: Ron Adar /

Recommended Posts


Top Menu

Main Menu